Francine was excited to learn that she was expecting. She would be able to have the first grandchild after all. She couldn’t wait to tell everyone.

June was thrilled, also. She couldn’t wait to have babies to cuddle with again.

Not long after, Kendra shared the news that she and Daniel would be parents.

“I thought we agreed to wait awhile until we had money saved and could have time to be just a couple,” Daniel said running a had through this hair.

“Sometimes these things just happen. You’re happy, right? I mean it’s kind of exciting. A little baby Daniel,” Kendra said.

“Did my sister talk you into this?” Daniel asked. “Was this on purpose?”

“No,” Kendra said.

Daniel sighed, turned, and walked away.

At the next family dinner, Kendra could barely sit still. She waited impatiently for everyone to fill their plates and for Francine to stop talking.

“Daniel and I have an announcement,” Kendra said excitedly. She tried to reach for Daniel’s hand, but he shifted away from her.

All eyes were on the couple.

“We are having a baby!” exclaimed Kendra.

“Congratulations!” Ken cheered along with others in the family.

Francine asked about the due date. After finding out it was after hers she said,”How fun. We can raise our babies together.”

Todd grabbed Heidi’s hand. He whispered, “We will be next.” Heidi tried to fake a smile.

Daniel wondered if things could get much worse. He knew he was an embarrassment in his father’s eyes. He had been passed over for a promotion. His savings were almost non-existent even though his mother secretly gave him money every month. Now he would have a baby to provide for. He wasn’t ready financially or emotionally to be a father. He couldn’t sleep at night. He couldn’t focus.

The only thing that offered him any relief was the pills. He found he needed more and more and they weren’t cheap. He couldn’t ask his father for money. He told Francine he needed money for the nursery.

He told Heidi he needed money to pay bills.

He had apologized to Heidi about how he and Francine had picked on her as children. He felt bad about her losing the baby. It seemed unfair that she so wanted a baby, but he was the one that would have one.

Heidi who was busy knitting booties for his unborn child while he asked her for money.

Heidi had sobbed after the family dinner. She cried a lot these days. She had been surprised by the pregnancy. She wanted children, but she hadn’t expected it to happen so soon. She had been worried about telling Francine, knowing she would be upset. Maybe all that worrying had caused her miscarriage. The doctor told her those things just happen sometimes. She was young and had plenty of time he said.

Todd had cried too. He didn’t like to see Heidi unhappy. He tried to comfort her, but nothing made her feel better.

After giving Heidi some time to deal with her loss, Ken knew he had to be honest with her. Francine had not disclosed the secret of Heidi’s paternity and he didn’t want her to be the one to reveal it to Heidi.

“Heidi, I should have been honest in the beginning,” Ken said, “Your mother, Liz, she and I had an affair. I am your biological father. I was selfish at the time. Your mother was marrying your stepfather and I foolishly thought it was for the best to not say anything.”

“What?” Heidi said in surprise.

“I was a coward. I didn’t want to admit to what I had done. I thought you would be okay with Liz. I was wrong and I’m sorry. I should have admitted the truth when I brought you here, but we thought it best not to tell the children. We loved you just the same. I hope you know that and can forgive me.”

“You are my father?” Heidi asked. He nodded.

“My life had been enhanced having you in it. I was such a fool,” Ken apologized.

“Of course I forgive you,” Heidi said,”Does everyone know? I felt like an outsider sometimes.”

Ken opened his arms and Heidi accepted a hug.

“Francine knows now. I’m hoping she will be kinder to you.”

Francine and Heidi’s relationship remained much the same. Kendall and Eric reacted to the news with words that they only knew her as a sister anyway.

Francine had a daughter, Brittany. Heidi adored being an aunt and playing with her niece. She offered to babysit anytime.

Still, she dreamed of becoming a mother herself.

Daniel was just adjusting to one child when Kendra announced they would be parents again.

Brandon was born first. He was followed two years later by Michael.

Leave a comment