One day, Kurt is walking home from school lost in his thoughts. Suddenly, a car comes speeding by and before Kurt can jump out of the way he feels the impact and is tossed in the air. His body rolls down a hill just shy of the lake. The driver thinking that he would roll into the water and drown, drives away. Kurt does not move or open his eyes.

Ruby worked overtime that day and came home late. Jack ran out to meet her.

“Is Kurt with you?” he asked.

“No, didn’t he come home from school?” Ruby asked.

“No, he did not come home.”

Ruby runs around the neighborhood asking anyone she sees if they have seen Kurt. No one has. She goes to the police station to seek assistance, but they tell her he is probably out with friends and will be home by morning.

Clara tells Constance that she needs to talk to her.

“I can’t do this anymore,” she says. “This is not the life I imagined. I’m suffocating.”

“You just lost your husband. It’s hard raising children. You just need some time. I’m here to help as much as I can.”

“No. I’m not like you. You are a natural at motherhood. You were meant to be a mother. I’m not like you. They would be better off with you.”

“What are you saying? The children need you.”

“I’m not good for them. Remember how miserable mother was? How she would spend the day in bed, crying. I had to take care of you, feed you, get you off to school. It was a miserable time. I don’t want that for my children,” Clara tries to explain.

“You just need time. Take a vacation, get some rest. Then come home refreshed. It will be better then.”

Clara shakes her head. “I have made up my mind. I can’t stay here any longer. You raise them. Give them the childhood that they deserve.” Clara wipes away a tear.

Constance tries to talk her out of leaving the children, but it is no use. Clara has made up her mind.

“I have packed my things. I’m leaving tomorrow morning. I will send money when I find work,” Clara tells her.

In the morning, Clara says goodbye to the children. Holly hugs her close and does not want to let go.

“When will you be back?” she sobs.

“I don’t know, but Constance will take good care of you while I am away. You must look after your brothers and sister. Help Constance out and be a big girl.” Holly hugs her mother tighter. “You must let go or you will upset the twins.”

Reluctantly, Holly lets go. She runs to her room and cries.

Henry refuses to come out of his room and say goodbye to his mother. Maybe if he doesn’t say goodbye, she won’t leave.

Constance had stayed the night with Clara hoping that she would change her mind. In the morning, Cayden came to get her.

“It’s time to go home. Fix my breakfast. I have been lenient enough with you. It’s time to be a proper wife,” Cayden demanded.

“Cayden,” starts Constance,” I have to stay with the children for awhile.”

“No,” he yelled and stamped his foot. “You are going home now.”

Constance shook her head. ” I can’t. Clara is gone and there is no one else to care for the children. You could stay here with us.”

“Absolutely not!” he shouted. “It’s either your husband or them. They are not your responsibility. They can go to an orphanage.”

Constance gasped. “I will not leave them.”

“Then we are done. You cannot come back home if you choose to stay.”

Constance holds back tears. She turns and walks into the house. She will not leave this children alone even if it costs her the marriage and her childhood home.


Ruby gets a visit from the police. Kurt was found unconscious. It appears he was struck by a car. She visits him in the hospital. He is bruised, has a broken arm and ribs. She cries and tells him that she loves him.

What if he never wakes up?

Leave a comment